

NH Department of Natural & Cultural Resources Division of Parks & Recreation

172 Pembroke Road, Concord, NH 03301 | nhstateparks.org

TIME LINE Key Events Parks Acquired

TIME LINE	Key Events	Parks Acquired
1881	Board of Inquiry appointed to investigate indiscriminate timber cutting.	
1889		South Pack Monadnock (Now Miller State Park)
1893	State Forestry Commission established	
1901		Wallis Sands, Cathedral Ledge, Echo Lake
1905		Monadnock
1909	State Forestry Department established	
1911		Mt. Sunapee
1913		Crawford Notch
1918		Cardigan Mountain
1920		Pillsbury
1922		Annett Wayside
1923		Pawtuckaway
1928		Franconia Notch
1931		Wellington Beach
1933	State/Federal funds (\$118,000) go to Forestry Department for CCC and WPA relief programs.	
1934		Wadleigh Beach, Moose Brook, Forest Lake, Wentworth Beach and Farm, Hampton Beach, and Kingston
1935	Forestry and Recreation Commission replaces Forestry Commission. Russell B. Tobey appointed to oversee state parks and staff of thirteen.	Milan Hill, Rollins, Sculptured Rocks Natural Area
1936		Rye Harbor
1937	First fees charged for state park use.	Dixville Notch
1938	Aerial Tramway built at Cannon by Tramway Commission.	
1941	Pearl Harbor. 60 Parks Personnel on payroll.	Weeks
1942	First women hired for parks jobs.	
1943	Five parks close/operate part time to reduce operation costs.	Bear Brook (CCC camp transferred to state for military maneuvers and recreation).

Key Events

Parks Acquired

1945	Division of Recreation established within Forestry Department. Russell Tobey named Director of the Division.	
1946	The Flume Gorge comes under parks management. \$70,000 worth of capital improvements at Hampton Beach, Franconia Notch, Lafayette Campground etc.	Rhododendron, Madison Boulder Natural Area
1948		Chesterfield Gorge
1949	Downhill skiing with chairlift installed at Sunapee as Park's first commercial ski venture.	Silver Lake, Sunapee
1950	Reorganization Act of 1950 - Parks took on administration of all shore properties from the abolished Shore and Beach Preservation Commission; also, acquired the Cannon Mountain Aerial Tramway from the Tramway Commission.	Franklin Pierce Homestead, Daniel Webster Birthplace, Hannah Dustin Memorial
1953		Taylor Mill Historic Site
1954		Wentworth Coolidge Mansion, Silver Lake
1956		Ellacoya
1957		Coleman
1958		Androscoggin Wayside
1959		Greenfield
1960		Fort Constitution
1961	Department of Resources and Economic Development established, replacing the Forestry Department, Forestry and Recreation Commission and Planning and Development Commission. Russell Tobey continued as head of the Parks Division within the Department.	Beaver Brook Falls Wayside, Fort Constitution, Nansen Ski Jump, Odiorne
1964		Mt. Washington, Clough
1965	Federal Land and Water Conservation Fund established. First <u>NH Outdoor Recreation Plan</u> published.	Robert Frost Farm

Key Events

Parks Acquired

1966		Plummer's Ledge, Umbagog,
1968		Pisgah Wilderness
1969		Ossipee Lake
1970		Bedell Bridge
1971		Mt. Crosby
1972	George Hamilton named Director of Parks.	
1973	Policy established for free use of parks by the elderly, free skiing for the physically disabled.	
1974		Gardner Memorial Wayside
1976	Pillsbury-Sunapee trail opened.	Lake Francis
1978	Paul Doherty named Director of Parks.	Fort Stark
1979		Eisenhower Wayside
1980		Jenness Beach, North Hampton Beach
1981	Budget cuts forced reduced schedule, elimination of naturalist position, and cutting of 6 seasonal interpretive positions.	
1982	Snowmaking installed at Mt. Sunapee, coupled to summit of Cannon Mountain. Access for handicapped persons to state parks initiated. Ronald Poltak named Director of Parks	
1984	Wilbur LaPage named Director of Parks.	
1985	New Hampshire State Parks 50th Anniversary Celebration. 64 persons on state parks staff.	
1990		Northwood Meadows
1991	Chapter 40:2 established the State Park Fund, a non-lapsing dedicated fund used to operate the State Park system.	
1993		White Island
1994		Ahern, Mollidgewock
1998		Umbagog
2006		Jericho Mountain

Key Events

Parks Acquired

2011	Phil Bryce named Director of Parks and Recreation	
2017	The Department of Resources and Economic Development was dissolved, and a new Department was created to better encompass the Divisions of Parks & Recreation, Forests & Lands, Historical Resources, the State Library, and the State Council on the Arts.	
2020	COVID-19 Pandemic, Parks open for recreation despite state hiring freeze. Advanced day-use reservations made mandatory for the duration of the season.	
2022	Brian Wilson named Director of Parks and Recreation	
2023	The New Hampshire Division of Parks and Recreation is one of the business operations within the Department of Cultural and Natural Resources. The Division is comprised of many management components that seek to achieve its mission statement and utilize New Hampshire's unique land base in providing premier recreation opportunities for its constituents. The Division currently manages 93 state parks, campgrounds, waysides, natural areas, and historic sites. In addition, the Division oversees New Hampshire's only state-owned ski resort, Cannon Mountain, and manages public access on the 142,400 acres of the Connecticut Lakes Headwaters Working Forest.	



NH Department of Natural & Cultural Resources | Division of Parks & Recreation 172 Pembroke Road, Concord, NH 03301 | nhstateparks.org